Minutes of A General Conference held at Zarahemla Lafayette County
Wis on the 6th 7th 8th days April A D 1853

On Motion Jason W Briggs was called to preside On motion H H Deam was called to act as clerk of the Conference Conference Opened by Singing Prayer by Jason W Briggs The Conference was then addressed by J W Briggs on the subject of chosing (sic) & Calling followed by Br Z H Gurley On Motion Br Daniel Razyl was ordained an Elder On Motion that were all the Officers in the Church be sustained in their respective Offices. On Motion the Conference adjourned to meet in Prayer Meeting on Ap(r)il 7th Conference met pursuant to adjournment in which the Spirit of Prophecy Revelation Vision & the administrations of Angels was manifest.

On Motion Conference adjourned to meet 9 Oclock on the 8th A M April 8th Conference met pursuant to adjournment & was Opened by Singing by the Choir & Prayer by J W Briggs Br Briggs then addressed the Conference on the subject of Ordination & Organization followed by Zenas H Gurley & others

On Motion Br Ethan Griffith Wm Cline & Cyrus Newkirk were appointed a Committee to Select Seven men to be Ordained Apostles in to the Quorum

 $<sup>^{1}</sup>$ Razy is spelled Rasey in Church History

Page 9th

of the twelve Apostles - -

On Motion Br Samuel Blair was sustained in the Office of General Church Recorder - -

On Motion Jason W Briggs was chosen Church Historian. On Motion Conference adjourned to meet at 2 Oclock P M Conference met pursuant to adjournment & was Opened by Singing by the Choir Prayer by Z H Gurley

The Committee of three Chosen to select seven men to be Ordained in to the Quorum of Apostles Report having selected the following persons to fill that Station Zenas H. Gurley, Henry H. Deam, Jason W Briggs, Daniel B Razy<sup>1</sup> - John Cunningham George White, Reuben Newkirk On Motion the Above named Persons was Ordained Apostles On Motion A Stake of Zion was established in the Town of Argyle County of Layette Layfayette (sic) & State of Wisconsin Called the Stake of Zarahemla On Motion Br Wm Cline was chosen & ordained President of the Stake On Motion Bro Cyrus Newkirk & Isaac Butterfield were Ordained Councilors (sic) of the President of the Stake

On Motion the following persons was Ordained Elders into the Quorum of Seventys

David Newkirk

Wm Newkirk

Ira Guilford

Wm Cline Jun

**S**2

George Godfrey

Wm Smith

<sup>1</sup>Razy is spelled Rasey in Church History www.LatterDayTruth.org
<sup>2</sup>The initial S was inserted above in different handwriting

Wm Hartshorn

Horace H. Ovitt

Wm White

Edwin Wildermuth

Benjamin R Tatum

John S Newberry

Ethan Griffith

Major Godfrey

Samuel Blair

Wm Griffith

George W Harlow

John Butterfield

Isaiah Harlow

Wm Harlow

On Motioned Conference adjourned to Meet at Zarahemla on the 6th of Oct A D 1853

Henry H Deam Clerk of the Conference Jason W Briggs Pres

Samuel Blair General Church recorder

Proceedings of a General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Saints held at Zarahemla Lafayette County Wisconsin Oct 6th 7th & 8th AD 1853

The Conference met & was called to order by the President of the Stake On motion Br Jason W Briggs was called to preside On motion Br Samuel Blair was called to act as clerk of the Conference After Singing & Prayer the Conference was addressed Br J W Briggs on the Subject of false doctrines

On Motion Conference adjourned to meet at half past 2 Oclock PM